«Transformative Spaces and Objects – Integrative spatial- and objectdesign with OLED»

Based on the emergence of the OLED as a light source, a paradigmatic transformation of the meaning of surfaces in rooms and on objects becomes apparent: Every surface can potentially be designed as a luminous surface. In collaboration with partners from research and industry, we experiment with the innovation potential, examine the design relevant phenomena and parameters and develop new lighting applications and lighting controls for rooms, for kinetic and static scenographical applications, as well as for new lamps and systems.

SRF broadcast on the research project ‹Transformative Spaces and Objects›, May 2014

Exhibition «OLED – Light of the future?» at the Museum of Applied Arts and Design (Gewerbemuseum) in Winterthur, October 2015

The organic light-emitting diode as a source of light is a technology that is still in industrial development, and has proved to be significant for some time now. Only recently have the few manufacturers overcome the technological challenges for competitive production in such a way that it will be possible to use the OLED as a new light source in an economically sensible manner in just a few years. An OLED is thin (less than 1 millimeter), it is light, provides diffuse light, is efficient, uses less energy than an LED and in contrast to that, can be disposed of without any problems. In other words: The OLED is one of the most promising light sources of the future. The research of our OLED Design Lab aims to provide a beneficial set of guidelines and opportunities for both designers and manufacturers.


An excerpt of the findings and a selection of prototypes will be shown in a special exhibition entitled "OLED - Light of the Future?" from May 10 to October 4, 2015 in the Winterthur Museum of Commerce.

Funding:

Project lead:

Research team:

Ulrich Bachmann, Mathias Stich, Valerie Notter de Rabanal, Maria-Sol Burgener, André Haarscheidt, Armin Blasbichler, Julia Katharina Büchel, Corsin Zarn, Juan Ferrari

Research partners:

Project term:

  • 06.2014 - 10.2015

«Transformative Räume und Objekte – Integrative Raum- und Objektgestaltung mit OLED»

Ausgehend von der Entwicklung zur OLED als Lichtquelle zeichnet sich eine paradigmatische Transformation der Bedeutung von Flächen im Raum und am Objekt ab: Jede Fläche kann potenziell auch als leuchtende Fläche gestaltet werden. In der Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern aus der Industrie experimentieren wir mit dem Innovationspotenzial, untersuchen die gestaltungsrelevanten Phänomene und Parameter und entwickeln neue Lichtanwendungen und –Steuerungen für Räume, für kinetische und unbewegte szenografische Anwendungen sowie für neue Leuchten und Systeme.

SRF Beitrag in 10vor10 zum Forschungsprojekt ‹Transformative Räume und Objekte›, Mai 2014

Ausstellung «OLED – Licht der Zukunft?» im Gewerbemuseum Winterthur, Oktober 2015

Die organischen Leuchtdioden als Lichtquelle sind eine noch in der industriellen Entwicklung befindliche Technologie, deren Bedeutung sich bereits seit einiger Zeit abzeichnete. Erst jüngst haben die wenigen Hersteller die technischen Herausforderungen für eine konkurrenzfähige Produktion derart in den Griff bekommen, dass man in wenigen Jahren OLED als neue Lichtquelle ökonomisch sinnvoll einsetzen kann. Die OLED ist dünn (unter 1mm), sie ist leicht, erzeugt diffuses Licht, sie ist effizient, braucht weniger Energie als LED und ist im Gegensatz dazu ohne Probleme zu entsorgen. Mit andern Worten: Die OLED ist eine der aussichtsreichsten Lichtquellen der Zukunft. Die Ergebnisse der Arbeiten aus unserem OLED Design Lab werden wir öffentlich und fachöffentlich ab April 2015 evaluieren, um aus den so gewonnen Erkenntnissen Handlungsableitungen für Designer und Hersteller anbieten zu können.


Eine Auswahl der Forschungsergebnisse wird in einer eigens konzipierten Ausstellung mit dem Titel «OLED – Licht der Zukunft?» vom 10. Mai bis zum 4. Oktober 2015 im Gewerbemuseum Winterthur öffentlich gezeigt.

Förderinstitution:

Projektleitung:

Forschungsteam:

Ulrich Bachmann, Mathias Stich, Valerie Notter de Rabanal, Maria-Sol Burgener, André Haarscheidt, Julia Katharina Büchel, Corsin Zarn, Juan Ferrari

Forschungspartner:

Laufzeit:

  • 06.2014 - 10.2015