Via Helvetia

,

2014

Switzerland's motorway network as a diagram

by Mike Hofmaier

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis

What the metro map is for the change, the highway chart could be for the turning. Barely any other transport network can be better paraphrased with the metaphor of the artery of our civilization like the road network, which continuousely pumps goods and people from the centers in to the periphery back and forth. The high-speed motorway is a nearly closed system, that as a course of action only knows straight-route and the rhythmically recurrent turing.

In the design part of his Master-Thesis, Mike Hofmaier reduces the geographic information of the motorway network to a purely-for-the-turing relevant schematic representation. Thereby lines are being straightened, distances between exits and junctions unified and the entire structure clearly reorganized.

The resulting line- and route network diagrams provide an overview of the entire feature set of the network in the most concisely possible way. Additional symbols, icons and arrows, as well as the chosen typography are based on the clear aesthetics of the road sign.

In this case study, the Swiss motorway system is being used as a bounding box. The goal of the project is to develop a self-consistent, transferable diagrammatic language for the highway transportation system that outperforms traditional geographical representation types in terms of efficiency.

The translation into a mobile electronic application is not directly part of the project, however, it would be the logical following step.

Mentors:

Prof. Marion Fink

, Institute of Visual Communication

Prof. Dr. Claudia Mareis

, Institute of Experimental Design and Media Cultures

Via Helvetia

,

2014

Das Autobahnnetz der Schweiz als Diagramm

von Mike Hofmaier

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis

Was für das Umsteigen das U-Bahn-Diagramm ist, könnte für das Abbiegen das Autobahn-Diagramm sein. Kaum ein anderes Transportnetzwerk liesse sich besser mit der Metapher der Pulsader unserer Zivilisation beschreiben als das Strassennetz, das Güter und Personen über die Hauptverkehrswege in die Peripherie und zurück pumpt. Die Hochgeschwindigkeitsstrecke Autobahn ist dabei ein nahezu geschlossenes System, das als Handlungsoption nur die Gerade und die rhythmisch wiederkehrende Abzweigung kennt.

Mike Hofmaier reduziert im Entwurfsteil seiner Master-Thesis die geografische Information des Autobahnnetzes auf eine rein für das Abbiegen relevante schematische Darstellung. Dabei werden Linien begradigt, Abstände zwischen Abfahrten und Verzweigungen vereinheitlicht und die Gesamtstruktur übersichtlich reorganisiert.

Die daraus resultierenden Linien- und Liniennetzdiagramme ermöglichen einen Überblick über das gesamte Funktionsangebot des Netzwerks in kleinstmöglichem Format. Ergänzende Symbole, Piktogramme und Pfeile sowie Typografie sind an die klare Ästhetik des Verkehrsschildes angelehnt.

Das Schweizer Autobahnsystem dient bei dieser diagrammatischen Grundlagenarbeit als Begrenzungsrahmen. Das Ziel des Projekts ist die Entwicklung einer in sich konsistenten, übertragbaren Diagrammatik für das Transportsystem Autobahn, das herkömmliche geografische Darstellungsarten in Sachen Effizienz übertrifft.

Die Übersetzung in eine mobile, elektronische Anwendung ist nicht unmittelbarer Bestandteil der Arbeit, wäre jedoch der konsequente nachfolgende Schritt.

Mentorat:

Prof. Marion Fink

, Institut Visuelle Kommunikation

Prof. Dr. Claudia Mareis

, Institut Experimentelle Design- und Medienkulturen