'this is fashion'

,

2017

Neither fashion nor art - what is ist, then? Neither fashion nor politics, is ist both?

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis

The feeling of disciplinary one-dimensionality and the resulting attempt to meet design in a multimedia declaration of love requires a rethinking and, as a result, an engagement in the gray areas of the fashion. While design is under the general suspicion of appeal und pure aestheticization, 'this is fashion' shows that fashion design - a discipline of design - can be more than the production-oriented problem solving attempt and can strengthen the idea of an artifact by critical commentary.


The Master’s thesis 'this is fashion' by Ayleen Meissner refers to fashion through fashion, in an attempt to approach the system of fashion with humor and sensitivity. Inspired by the handling of art with criticism as a comment, multidisciplinary, she develops a collection of illustrative thinking models, objects and concepts, visual comments on society, through dealing with and in design.

The assertion that our world and our understanding of it becomes more and more inscrutable, we become more and more networked, and, as it were, more rude and overwhelmed by the head-over-heels-development, reflects the less conciliatory tenor of our time and is blamed as a cause for various problems. This myth becomes the acknowledged scapegoat of all evil, and here everyone agrees; We do not have to go further.


While this thesis is only a thesis, 'this is fashion' is not based on the belief that an overly complex world makes the overview impossible, but that individual disciplines can only be made holistically comprehensible by trying to explain it holistically. Art, design, politics, sociology are thus only fenced by their names, but rarely bridges between them.

Every brand positions itself to or against something already existing on the market and balances or fills gaps in the already existing repertoire of a discipline. This brand, this «corporate identity» is not to be understood as a commercial one; rather, it symbolizes the belief in a holistic foundation of values, which manifests itself in differently pronounced objects and ideas, which in turn are always commentaries and proactive stances towards fashion.


The brand 'this is fashion' enables a «cross over» range of critical agency. It marks and signifies a qualitative performance claim - not a product as a single entity, but all cumulative aspects. The entirety of all thinking models make the «brand».
Products of this «brand» encompass the whole design process, from conception to the design itself, from services to the tangible product. In such case the brand provides a guideline of values, along which any contribution to the brand / branding can be verified and hence be merged into its holistic concept.


All the individual artifacts of the editions / collections cover the questions of originality, political and social influence, the distance to art and the question of the importance of fashion. 'This is fashion' is to portray, illustrate, criticize and reflect. 'this is fashion' addresses everyone who wants to ask questions about fashion and consumes the alleged revelations, devoid of meaning, voyeuristically. 'this is fashion' examines, stretches and transcends the boundaries of the term 'fashion' and combines visual objects to and under fashion under a value horizon.

The artifacts are tangible thoughts, asking the question whether they are 'fashion'. They sharpen the perception of fashion and stimulate the debate. 'This is fashion' challenges fashion through design, reflects possible boundaries of fashion from different angles, reflects, depicts and shows that fashion always includes everything and everything: political, social, art, neither copy nor original.

Mentors:

Prof. Dr. Bettina Köhler

, Studio Fashion Design, Institute Integrative Design

Prof. Oliver MacConnell

, bbw Hochschule Berlin

'this is fashion'

,

2017

Es ist weder Mode, noch ist es Kunst, was ist es dann? Es ist weder Mode, noch Politik, oder ist es beides?

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis

Das Gefühl der disziplinären Eindimensionalität und der daraus resultierende Versuch Design in einer multimedialen Liebeserklärung zu begegnen, erfordert ein Umdenken und als Resultat ein sich Einlassen auf und das Begehen der Grauzonen der Mode. Während Design unter dem Generalverdacht der Gefälligkeit, der reinen Ästhetisierung steht, zeigt 'this is fashion' auf, dass Modedesign – als eine Disziplin des Designs – mehr als die produktorientierte Problemlösung sein und durch kritischen Kommentar die Idee eines Artefakts stärken kann.


Die Masterthesis 'this is fashion' von Ayleen Meissner bezieht Standpunkt zu Mode durch Mode, im Versuch sich humorvoll und sensibel an die Fragen an das System Mode heranzutasten. Inspiriert vom Umgang der Kunst mit Kritik als Kommentar, multidisziplinär, entsteht eine Kollektion an illustrativen Denkmodellen, Objekten und Konzepten, visuelle Kommentare zu Gesellschaft, dem Umgang mit und in Design. 

Die Behauptung, dass unsere Welt und unser Verständnis von ihr, immer undurchschaubarer wird, wir immer vernetzter und gleichsam verrohter, überfordert der sich überschlagenden Entwicklung hinterherhinken, spiegelt den wenig versöhnlichen Tenor unserer Zeit wieder und wird als Grund, wie Auslöser für verschiedenste Problematiken verantwortlich gemacht. Dieser Mythos wird zum anerkannten Sündenbock allen Übels und hier sind sich alle einig; da müssen wir nicht weitersuchen. 


Während diese These auch nur eine These ist, verortet sich 'this is fashion' nicht im Glauben, dass eine zu komplexe Welt den Überblick unmöglich macht, sondern darin, dass Einzeldis­ziplinen nur wieder ganzheitlich begreifbar gemacht werden können, indem man sie ganzheitlich zu erklären versucht. Kunst, Design, Politik, Soziologie werden so erst durch ihre Benennung eingezäunt, seltener jedoch Brücken zwischen ihnen geschlagen. 

Jede Brand positioniert sich zu oder gegen etwas bereits Existierendem auf dem Markt, gleicht sich an oder füllt Lücken im bereits bestehenden Repertoire einer Disziplin. Diese Brand, diese «corporate Identity», ist hierbei nicht kommerziell zu verstehen, vielmehr symbolisiert sie den Glauben an einen ganzheitlichen Wertesockel, der sich in unterschiedlich ausgeprägten Objekten und Ideen manifestiert, die dadurch immer Kommentar sind und aktiv Standpunkt zu Mode beziehen. 


Die Brand 'this is fashion' macht ein «cross over» Sortiment erlebbar. Sie markiert und signiert einen qualitativen Leistungsanspruch – nicht ein Produkt als Einzelnes, sondern alle kumulierten Aspekte, die Gesamtheit aller Denkmodelle machen eine Brand aus. 
Produkte dieser «Brand« umfassen den gesamten Designprozess, von der Konzeption bis zum Entwurf. Von der Dienstleistung zum gestalteten Produkt. Die «Brand« liefert hierbei einen Werteleitfaden, auf den jeder Beitrag zur Marke (Branding) überprüft werden kann, um im ganzheitlichen Konzept zu verschmelzen. 

Alle Einzelartefakte der Editionen/Kollektionen umfassen die Fragen nach Originalität, politischem und sozialem Einfluss, dem Abstand zur Kunst und der Frage, wie wichtig Mode ist, bzw. mit welchen Vorurteilen sie zu kämpfen hat. 'this is fashion' soll abbilden, illustrieren, kritisieren und reflektieren. 'this is fashion' adressiert hierbei jeden, der sich den Fragen an Mode stellen will und die Enthüllungen vermeintlicher Sinnentleerung voyeuristisch aufbereitet konsumiert. 'this is fashion' überprüft , dehnt und überschreitet die Grenzen des Begriffes «fashion» und bündelt visuelle Objekte zu und über Mode unter einem Wertehorizont. 

Die Artefakte sind berührbare Gedanken, die Mode sind oder die Frage einfordern, ob sie es sind. Sie schärfen die Wahrnehmung von Mode und regen zur Auseinandersetzung an. 'this is fashion' hinterfragt Mode durch Design, hinterfragt mögliche Grenzen von Mode aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln, reflektiert, bildet ab und zeigt auf, dass Mode stets alles beinhaltet und alles ist: politisch, sozial, Kunst, weder Kopie, noch Original. 

Mentorat:

Prof. Dr. Bettina Köhler

, Studio Fashion Design, Institut Integrative Gestaltung

Prof. Oliver MacConnell

, bbw Hochschule Berlin