The Other Us

,

2018

At what point does AI become human?

#StudioScenography #Master-Thesis

In her Master-Thesis titled «The Other Us - At what point does AI become human?» Despina Simeonidou investigates, from a philosophical and scientific point of view, at what point the machines (especially humanoid robots) develop so far by means of Artificial Intelligence (AI) that they are indistinguishable from humans.

The key question of my thesis «What is human?» has already engaged many philosophers, scientists, historians and futurists. Despina Simeonidou's main inspirations were Mark Twain's essay What is Man?, a 1906 short story about human nature and the movies 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968, Stanley Kubrick), Alien: Covenant (2017, Ridley Scott) and Blade Runner 2049 (2017 Denis Villeneuve).

Through rapid developments in robotics, we have created algorithms that allow Artificial Intelligence to mimic human behavioral patterns (mimesis), thereby giving them the ability to respond to external stimuli.

In the role of Homo Deus humans create new life. We are at the point where we transcend human nature. This is what is discussed in her film collage, which consists of existing Science-Fiction film material, but from the point of view of Artificial Intelligence. The projection of the film collage is reflected in an infinite mirror space. The scenographic concept is based on Plato's The Allegory of the Cave, where the cave itself represents the new created world and the shadows on the wall of the cave depict the reflection of the visitor in the mirror.

Film Collage «​​The Other Us – At what point does AI become human?»​

The Other Us

,

2018

At what point does AI become human?

#StudioScenography #Master-Thesis

In ihrer Masterthesis mit dem Titel «The Other Us – At what point does AI become human?» untersucht Despina Simeonidou, auf philosophischer und wissenschaftlicher Ebene, ab welchem Zeitpunkt sich die Maschinen (speziell Humanoide Roboter) mittels Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) soweit entwickeln, dass sie vom Menschen ununterscheidbar sind.

Die Leitfrage ihrer Thesis «Was ist menschlich?» hat bereits viele Philosophen, Wissenschaftler, Historiker und Futuristen beschäftigt. Despina Simeonidou's Hauptinspirationen waren Mark Twains Essay Was ist der Mensch?, eine 1906 veröffentlichte Kurzgeschichte über die menschliche Natur und die Filme 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968, Stanley Kubrick), Alien: Covenant (2017, Ridley Scott) und Blade Runner 2049 (2017, Denis Villeneuve).

Durch rasante Entwicklungen im Bereich der Robotik wurden Algorithmen geschaffen, die es der Künstlichen Intelligenz erlauben, menschliche Verhaltensmuster nachzuahmen (Mimesis) und ihnen dadurch die Möglichkeit geben, auf äußere Reize zu reagieren.

In der Rolle des Homo Deus schaffen die Menschen neues Leben. Wir sind an dem Punkt, wo wir die menschliche Natur überwinden. Dies wird in ihrer Film Collage, die aus existierendem Science-Fiction Filmmaterial besteht, aus der Sicht einer Künstlichen Intelligenz thematisiert . Die Projektion der Film Collage spiegelt sich ins Unendliche im Spiegelraum. Das szenografische Konzept lehnt sich an Platons Höhlengleichnis, in dem die Höhle selbst die neu geschaffene Welt darstellt und die Schatten an der Wand der Höhle die Reflexion des Besuchers im Spiegel repräsentieren.

Film Collage «​​The Other Us – At what point does AI become human?»​