SEI

,

2015

Awearness

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis

«SEI – Awearness» is inspired by the correlation of humans – as natural beings formed by culture – with their surrounding nature, which stands for life itself. In turn, life is growth, which is embedded in a circle of formation and obliteration.

The idea of incorporating this very circle into the existence of a seemingly dead or inanimate object is the main point in the execution of the different project phases of Annette Kres' thesis. Her undertaking as a fashion designer - harvesting raw materials from biological growth processes - results in a prototypical collection.

In this collection, part natural, partly artificial fabrics are being combined, to underline the advantages of both material worlds and, additionally, to hold a pledge for a new way of using resources. By translating processes of biological growth and tracking animal movements - using them as a designer’s tool - coloration, material functions and graphic patterns are combined and form a sharp contrast towards the highly controlled fabrication of hi-tech materials.


As a final result of the extensive research on material and the many experiments conducted, the collection of items is geared toward representing a new, contemporary look, a sporty and sensual aesthetic, dismissing the traditional „eco-chic“. With this work, the author builds the foundation for her to further explore the possibilities of fashion in the context of a sustainable economy.

Mentors:

Christoph Fröhlich

, Teamhead lifestyle design bei PUMA

Prof. Dr. Bettina Köhler

, Masterstudio Design

SEI

,

2015

Awearness

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis

«SEI – Awearness» ist inspiriert durch die Beziehung des Menschen als natürliches und kulturell geformtes Wesen mit der ihn umgebenden Natur. Die Natur steht für Leben. Leben ist auch Wachstum, das selbst wiederum in einen Zyklus von Entstehung und Abbau eingebunden ist.

Die Idee, diesen Kreislauf in die Existenz eines vielleicht auf den ersten Blick tot erscheinenden Produkts zu integrieren, ist federführend in der Ausarbeitung der verschiedenen Projektphasen der Master-Thesis von Annette Kres. Hinführend zu einer prototypischen Modekollektion unternimmt die Modedesignerin Versuche, Rohmaterial für Bekleidung bis hin zu Schuhen biologisch wachsen zu lassen.

In der Kollektion werden teils natürliche, teils künstliche Stoffe miteinander kombiniert, um die Vorzüge beider Materialgruppen zu unterstreichen und um zusätzlich für ein neues Mass der Ressourcen-Nutzung zu plädieren. Durch die Übersetzung von Prozessen biologischen Wachstums und die gestalterische Nutzbarmachung von Tierbewegungen, verbinden sich Färbungen, Materialeigenschaften und grafische Muster und stehen dadurch im Kontrast zu streng kontrollierten Verfahren der Herstellung von High-Tech Stoffen.


Als Ergebnis der umfangreichen Materialrecherchen und Experimentier-Reihen entstand letztlich eine Modekollektion, die abseits vom «Öko-Look» eine zeitgemässe, sportliche und zugleich sinnlich-weibliche Ästhetik anstrebt. Damit legt sich die Autorin den Grundstein um die Möglichkeiten der Mode im Kontext der Kreislaufwirtschaft weiter zu verfolgen.

Mentorat:

Christoph Fröhlich

, Teamhead lifestyle design bei PUMA

Prof. Dr. Bettina Köhler

, Institut Mode-Design