Picasso – Blue Rose

,

2019

Students design high-quality products for the Picasso-Shop at Fondation Beyeler

#StudioIndustrialDesign#StudioIntegrativeDesign

For the major exhibition «The Young Picasso – Blue and Rose Periods» at Fondation Beyeler, the FHNW Academy of Art and Design and Fondation Beyeler have, for the first time, realized a joint project.

Inspired by Picasso’s paintings from the Blue and Rose periods, students of the Masterstudio Design were asked to develop product ideas for the gallery’s Picasso shop, a task they worked on for two semesters. In the context of the trainee programme Swiss Cultural Entrepreneurship, students were thus given the opportunity to go through the whole design process, from sketch to finished product, under real conditions.

The students first explored the formal, motivic, and conceptual characteristics of Picasso’s work during the Blue and Rose periods as a basis for reinterpreting them. Setting out from their sketches they went on to deal with aesthetic and functional concerns, find the right production partners, define target groups and price ranges, create designs for packaging, and select the appropriate modes of presentation and sale. In the process the students went through all the stages of product development, enabling them to gather vital experience with regard to design practice.

A jury selected the designs it believed were worth realizing. Since then, six different products have been produced and are now on sale at Fondation Beyeler’s Picasso shop, most of them handcrafted unique items. The product range comprises mouth-blown vases, golden handheld mirrors, coloured soaps and wax crayons, a special Mikado set, and T-shirts for kids – all come in a limited edition and a specially designed packaging.

The SRF programme «Kulturplatz» accompanied the production process and broadcasted a glance of the making-of for the opening of the exhibition. The TV report can be viewed here.

As from March 2019 Interviews with the students and videos showing the production of the various items can be found on the respective social media channels of the FHNW Academy of Art and Design and Fondation Beyeler.

Mentors:

Armin Blasbichler

, Studio Integrative Design

Nicole Schneider

, Studio Industrial Design

Jana Eske

, Swiss Cultural Entrepreneurship

Picasso – Blau Rosa

,

2019

Studierende gestalten hochwertige Produkte für den Picasso-Shop der Fondation Beyeler

#StudioIndustrialDesign#StudioIntegrativeDesign

Anlässlich der grossen Ausstellung «Der junge PICASSO – Blaue und Rosa Periode» haben die Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHNW und die Fondation Beyeler zum ersten Mal ein aussergewöhnliches Projekt realisiert.

Inspiriert von Picassos Gemälden der Blauen und Rosa Periode, wurde Studierenden des Masterstudio Design während zweier Semester die Möglichkeit eröffnet, Produktideen für den Picasso Shop zu entwickeln. Im Rahmen dieser Initiative des Nachwuchsprogramms Swiss Cultural Entrepreneurship konnten sie den gesamten Prozess vom Entwurf bis zum fertigen Produkt unter realen Bedingungen zu durchlaufen.

In der Entwurfsphase arbeiteten die Studierenden motivische, formale und konzeptuelle Merkmale von Picassos Werken der Blauen und Rosa Periode heraus, um diese neu zu interpretieren. Von diesen ersten Entwürfen und der Auseinandersetzung mit Ästhetik und Funktionalität über die Findung von Produktionspartnern, die Ermittlung der Zielgruppe und die Preisgestaltung bis hin zu Verpackungsdesign, Präsentation und Verkauf konnten die Studierenden damit am gesamten Prozess einer Produktentwicklung mitwirken und so wichtige Erfahrungen in der Designpraxis sammeln.

Eine Jury prämierte jene Entwürfe, die realisiert werden sollten. Insgesamt sechs verschiedene Produkte wurden produziert und werden nun im Picasso-Shop der Fondation Beyeler angeboten. Bei den meisten handelt es sich um handgefertigte Unikate. Entstanden sind mundgeblasene Vasen, goldene Handspiegel, bunte Seifen und Wachsmalstifte, ein Mikado-Spiel und T-Shirts für Kinder – alles in einer limitierten Auflage und mit einer eigens dafür gestalteten Verpackung.

Die Sendung «Kulturplatz» des SRF hat den Produktionsprozess begleitet und erste Einblicke in das Kooperationsprojekt zum Start der Ausstellung ausgestrahlt. Der Filmbeitrag kann hier gesehen werden.

Interviews mit den Studierenden und Videos der Produktion sind auf den Social-Media-Kanälen der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHNW und der Fondation Beyeler ab März 2019 zu sehen.

Mentorat:

Armin Blasbichler

, Studio Integrative Design

Nicole Schneider

, Studio Industrial Design

Jana Eske

, Swiss Cultural Entrepreneurship