Out of Control

,

2016

When Light is Talking

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis

Regarding the design potential of OLED light sources the exemplary questions were how dynamic and interactive manipulated lighting can be applied, how the spatial experience can be altered and which role the user takes in certain scenarios.

Designing light dynamically - via a sensual and interactive experience which lets the user transform different atmospheric settings and underline the integral experience of light as a medium - was Corsin Zarns' comprehensive demand on developing «satellite», an interactive lamp that redefines the relationship between user and object. By creating a fully functional prototype, the value of a first hand experience in the novel handling of lighting situations is demonstrated.

«Satellite»: combines the suspendes lumiaire's archetype with high-tech. Light from OLED sources is managed and manipulated with gestures and algorithms. The GUI of the special tailored app shows the pulsing lighting planes corresponding with the actual position and phase of the earths original satellite, the moon.

By variating between differentiated light planes that either emit upwards or downwards, lighting moods can be triggered. The illustration of the incentive - using light to immediately create spatial atmospheres, be it smooth and pulsing, or bright and clear, diffuse or concentrated - is the prerequisite for any possible user to imagine interaction with the object.

Therefore, «satellite» uses different sensors, that react on touch, proximity and gestures; these sensors being the outcome of the collaboration with iart in the context of the research project Transformative Räume und Objekte (for more information about the results visit the project's platform: «flokk»).

Additionally, the custom app running on smartphones and tablets functions as a control interface, allowing for an individual and immediate configuration of lighting atmospheres.




Mentors:

Valentin Spiess

, CEO iart

Dr. Ralf Michel

, Masterstudio Design

Out of Control

,

2016

When Light is Talking

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis

Ausgehend vom Gestaltungspotential von OLED-OLED-Lichtquellen wird exemplarisch die Frage gestellt, in welchen Situationen dynamisches und interaktiv gesteuertes Licht eingesetzt werden kann, wie es die räumliche Wahrnehmung verändert und welche Rolle der Nutzer dabei spielt.

Was bedeutet es, Licht dynamisch zu gestalten, sodass die Transformation verschiedener Atmosphären durch eine sinnlich-intuitive Interaktion der Nutzer mit dem Lichtobjekt beeinflusst werden kann und das Medium Licht als ganzheitliches Erlebnis erfahrbar gemacht werden kann? Mit dieser umfänglichen Frage verfolgt Corsin Zarn das Ziel, eine interaktive Leuchte zu entwickeln, die verschiedene Lichtsituationen ermöglicht und die Interaktion zwischen Nutzer und Objekt neu definiert. Am funktionsfähigen Prototypen «satellite» wird dieses Erlebnis erfahrbar gemacht.

«Satellite»: Vereint den traditionellen Archetyp der Pendelleuchte mit High-Tech. Das Licht aus OLED-Lichtquellen wird mittels Gesten und Algorithmen gesteuert. Über ein API pulsieren die Lichtflächen im Ruhezustand sanft im Rhythmus der aktuellen Mondposition und der Lichtintensität der Mondphase.

Durch das Variieren von nach oben und unten differenziert abstrahlenden Lichtflächen können Lichträume erschaffen und Lichtstimmungen aufgelöst werden. Der Anreiz, mit Licht unmittelbar räumliche Atmosphäre gestalten zu können – mal sanft und pulsierend, mal hell und klar, mal direkt, mal indirekt – ist Grundvoraussetzung für Nutzerinnen und Nutzer um mit dem Lichtobjekt zu interagieren. 

Aufbauend auf die im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts Transformative Räume und Objekte durch den Projektpartner iart entwickelte Plattform «flokk» kommen Sensoren zum Einsatz, die auf Berührung, Nähe und Gestik reagieren. Zudem steht eine eigens entwickelt APP für Smartphones und Tablets als Kontrollinterface zu Verfügung. Lichtstimmungen können damit möglichst unmittelbar und intuitiv selektiert und angepasst werden.

Mentorat:

Valentin Spiess

, CEO iart

Dipl.-Des. Ralf Michel

, Institut Integrative Gestaltung