Miracle

,

2018

Intuitive haptic telemanipulator for a robotic endoscope

#StudioIndustrialDesign #Master-Thesis

The master's thesis project is part of the flagship reserach project MIRACLE (Minimal Invasive Robot Assisted Computerguided LaserosteotomE) of the Department of Biomedical Engineering (DBE) at the University of Basel. The aim of the project is to combine three cutting-edge technologies: robotic surgery, laser osteotomy and minimal invasive surgery. 

This setting allowed Patrick Salz to envision the  ergonomic handle for the lambda.6 telemanipulator that allows to intuitively control the tip of a robotic endoscope. This handle is a key element of the user interface of the robotic system.

The thesis focused on the development of suitable designs for the shape of such a handle. An array of different prototypes have been produced by using 3D printing technology and have been systematically evaluated with respect to comfort, irritation and effort among other criteria.

In a next step, assistant surgeons from the University Hospital Basel will try out the different developed handles on the lambda.6 telemanipulator. They will rate them according to the accessibility of the workspace and accuracy of positioning quantitatively and for ergonomic movements and intuitive form qualitatively. The outcome will influence the final handle design. 

Robotic surgery is often performed with a teleoperated system where the surgeon remotely controls the operating robot. For a good controlling for the surgeon, a telemanipulator is needed. A telemanipulator measures the movements of the surgeon and forward them further to the robot. In case of the MIRACLE project, the lambda.6 telemanipulator from Force Dimension (Nyon, Waadt, Switzerland) is used. 

lambda.6 Telemanipulator - Test according to the accessibility of the workspace and accuracy of positioning

Mentors:

Prof. Werner Baumhakl

,

Nicole Schneider, Prof. Ralf Trachte, Alfredo Häberli


,

Esther Zoller

, Departement of Biomedical Engineering, University of Basel​​

Miracle

,

2018

Intuitive haptic telemanipulator for a robotic endoscope

#StudioIndustrialDesign #Master-Thesis

Die Master-Thesis ist Teil des Grossprojektes MIRACLE (Minimal Invasive Robot Assisted Computerguided LaserosteotomE), welches am Department of Biomedical Engineering (DBE) der Universität Basel durchgeführt wird. Das Ziel des Projektes ist die Verknüpfung von drei Technologien: roboterunterstützte Chirurgie, Laserosteotomie und minimalinvasiver Chirurgie.

Diese Zusammenarbeit ermöglichte Patrick Salz das ergonomisches Handmodul für den lambda.6 Telemanipulator zu entwickeln, welches das intuitive Steuern eines robotischen Endoskopes ermöglichen soll. Das Handmodul bildet dabei ein Schlüsselelement an der Schnittstelle zwischen dem operierenden Chirurgen und dem robotischen System. 

Der Fokus der Arbeit liegt auf der Formgestaltung des Griffes. Dazu wurden eine Reihe von Prototypen mittels 3D Druck-Verfahren hergestellt und systematisch in Bezug auf Komfort, Irritation und Kraftaufwand sowie weiterer Kriterien am DBE evaluiert.

In einem nächsten Schritt werden Assistenzärzte des Universitätsspitals Basel die Griffdesigns am lambda.6 Telemanipulator testen. Quantitativ werden die Handgriffe unter anderem auf die Erreichbarkeit des Arbeitsraumes und Genauigkeit der Positionierung getestet. Qualitativ werden unter anderem die ergonomische Gestaltung und Intuitivität bewertet. Die Ergebnisse werden Einfluss auf das endgültige Design haben. 

In der robotischen Chirurgie werden häufig Teleoperationssysteme eingesetzt, bei welchen der Chirurg den operierenden Roboter von einer örtlich getrennten Konsole bedient. Für die Kontrolle über den Roboter werden Telemanipulatoren eingesetzt. Diese nehmen die vom Chirurgen ausgeführten Bewegungen auf und senden die geben die Signale an den Roboter weiter, welcher diese ausführt. Im Falle des MIRACLE Projektes wird ein lambda.6 Telemanipulator von Force Dimension (Nyon, Waadt, Schweiz) benutzt. 

lambda.6 Telemanipulator - Test der Erreichbarkeit des Arbeitsraumes und Genauigkeit der Positionierung

Mentorat:

Prof. Werner Baumhakl

, Studio Industrial Design

Nicole Schneider, Prof. Ralf Trachte, Alfredo Häberli


, Studio Industrial Design

Esther Zoller

, Departement of Biomedical Engineering, University of Basel​​