Dingitality

,

2016

Interference of digitality in the analogue world

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis

By constant and repetitive use of digital devices we lose touch with the manifold traits of materiality in the realm of physical space and the concomitant possibilities of manipulating products and formats. Whole processes disappear because a spatial connection for the transmission of goods and information has gone. Stemming from that consideration, this Master's thesis asks to what extent analogue design can create awareness for digitality.

Inspired by observations the work presents itself as a broad variety of interpretations and formats of people interacting with facets of digitality – including the digiTales and the Abecedarium of digital animals among others. By combining both traits of digitality and humans, peculiarities of language and the-things-with-names we are surrounded with, Jil Wiesner creates a multitude of hybrids. The humorous approach aims to contemplate our contemporary world and creates at platform for critical dialogue.

Digitality is omnipresent - both in the private and the public realm and its level is increasing constantly. This increase notwithstanding, its presence becomes more and more imperceptible, and permeates our daily routines. Devices like smart phones, tablets, laptops are a permanent part of our daily routine. This matter of course results in an unconsciously change of habit, an adaptive use of language and and altered behavior towards our surroundings.

Mentors:

Prof. Dr. Bettina Köhler

, Masterstudio Design

Francesca Sanna

, Illustrator and Graphic Designer

Dingitalität

,

2016

Die Beeinflussung von Digitalität in der analogen Welt

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis

Durch den steten, immer gleichen Gebrauch von Digitalgeräten gehen weiterhin Materialvielfalt und unterschiedliche Handhabungen von Produkten und Formaten verloren. Ja, ganze Prozesse, vor allem körperliche, verschwinden, weil räumliche Bewegung nicht mehr notwendig ist, um etwas zu erhalten. Ausgehend davon, geht die Master-Thesis der Frage nach, wie man anhand analoger Gestaltung ein Bewusstsein für Digitalität und dessen Gebrauch schaffen kann.

Auf der Grundlage von Beobachtungen aus dem Alltag hat Jil Wiesner verschiedene analoge Formate entwickelt, die unterschiedlich gehandhabt werden müssen – darunter u.a. die digiTales und das Abecedarium digitaler Tiere. Es sind Hybride; Zusammenspiele von Digitalität und der realen Welt, von den Menschen, ihrer Sprache und den Dingen die sie umgeben. Der humorvolle Umgang mit Illustration und Text animiert zum Nachdenken und schafft Dialoge. 

Selbst wenn man ihr entkommen wollte, Digitalität ist omnipräsent. Im privaten genau wie im öffentlichen Raum. Sie wird immer mehr. Doch obwohl Digitalität stets wächst, wird sie für viele immer unmerklicher, weil sie sich daran gewöhnt haben. Digitale Geräte wie Smartphone, Tablet oder Laptop sind heute fester Bestandteil unseres Alltags. Das ist nicht neu, doch ihre Anwesenheit ist mittlerweile so selbstverständlich, sodass sich unser Verhalten, unsere Manieren und Sprache – meist unbewusst – ändern.

Mentorat:

Prof. Dr. Bettina Köhler

, Institut Integrative Gestaltung

Francesca Sanna

, Illustratorin und Grafik Designerin