Designing Game Worlds

,

2018

Coherent game-world-designs for open worlds through procedural generation techniques

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis

"Open World Games" have potential for countless hours of exploration and gameplay due to their huge game worlds. Procedural generation of game content by computer software is therefore becoming more and more important as a design technique. Using such techniques may cause problems in the coherence of the worlds that adversely affect the game experience.

In his master thesis, Mihajlo Nenad deals with the development and design of an open-world game. The aim of the work is to develop and apply concrete methods for the generation of coherent visual languages in open-world games (and their components) using the prototype GenoTerra.

Generative design is a new possibility for creating coherent visual languages in open-world games

Generally, large teams of trained specialists work on open-world game productions, design and program the game content for a meaningful way of integration. An alternative to the traditional design of open-world games is the procedural generation of content by computer software. In doing so, procedurally generated content does not automatically lead to more coherent content. However, it can help the designer to develop a visual language and successfully establish it as an overall aesthetic in the game.

Procedural Generation in Games (PCG) is the game content created by a computer on the basis of a set of rules programmed in the first instance by humans.

«In other words, PCG refers to computer software that can create game content on its own, or together with one or many human players or designers. A key term here is “content”. In our definition, content is most of what is contained in a game: levels, maps, game rules, textures, stories, items, quests, music, weapons, vehicles, characters, etc.»

Togelius Julian, Shaker Noor, Nielsen Mark J.: Procedural Content Generation in Games. A Textbook and Overview of current Research. Springer (2016) S. 1

Procedural generation is becoming increasingly important and can be used, for example, No Man's Sky, are now used for the generation of entire game worlds. It is used where content does not need to be loaded at the beginning of the game, only when the player is aware of or interacts with content. This procedure optimizes the computing power and regulates the computer-internal resource handling.

In contrast to the manual design process, which Mihajlo Nenad also sees as generation, procedural generation has the advantage of coming into effect only shortly before the moment when the design result in the game is important.

The Game "Rogue" (1980) is considered to be one of the first games that took advantage of procedural world generation. From today's perspective, this world looks graphically poor. The dungeons that the player (@ -symbol) researches (crawl), consist of text symbols like the rest of the elements. The score can not be saved in the original title because the game world is regenerated procedurally each time. One way to get around this today is to use the same "seed" or save it.

A "seed" forms the start value for the generation. The seed can have different forms. Examples of a seed are:

Integers: 1, 2, 24, 678 ...

Decimal numbers: 0.1, 0.5, 7,934 ...

Letters: a, b, C, D ...

Several letters: abc, hello, ThesiS

Data / time: 30.05.2018, 23:15:30

This seed acts as the initial value for a set of rules that a human has previously programmed on a computer. One such rule for a generated rectangle might be as follows:

Rule 1: Seed + Seed2 = width of a rectangle

Rule 2: (Seed - 1) + Seed2 = Height of a rectangle

Rule 3: if seed> 3 = blue rectangle

Thus, content can be generated by the computer autonomously. Such content may take on complex forms, depending on the programmed rules. In addition to the visual form of objects, stories and properties of game content can be generated procedurally in the same way.

Game vs. Play

If a game lacks concrete rules and builds on pure gamer's knowledge in the digital space, a «game» is referred to as «play».


The spanish philosopher, literate and literary critic George Santayana describes the term «play» in his work «The Sense of Beauty» as follows:

«Play is whatever is done spontaneously and for its own sake.»
Santayana, George: The Sense of Beauty. Being the Outline of Aesthetic Theory. New York: Dover Publications, Inc. (1955) S.19


David O’Reilly, a contemporary director of animation films, convinced large strata of the gamer- and non-gamer-scene alike with his title Everything [3] from april 2017.

«Everything ist ein interaktives Erlebnis, das dich alles sein lässt was du sein möchtest. Egal ob Tier, Planet, Galaxy. Reise zwischen dem Mikro-, und Makrokosmos hin und her und erforsche ein grosses, miteinander verbundenes Universum ohne verpflichtende Ziele oder Aufgaben.»
https://store.steampowered.com... (12.05.2018)

Coherence

Coherence of imagery is understood in Mihajlo Nenad's work as a coherent (unified) design, a stylized design. A visually incoherent (non-uniform) world usually leads to a less aesthetically pleasing, visual experience of the game.

David O'Reilly writes in his essay Basic Animation Aesthetics on the keyword coherence:

«My central belief is that the key to aesthetics is coherence. In 3d we essentially create artificial models of worlds, I contend that what makes these worlds believable is simply how coherent they are; how all the elements tie together under a set of rules which govern them consistently. This coherence spreads to all areas of a film; dialogue, design, sound, music, movement etc. Together they create a feedback-loop which reaffirms that what we are looking at is true. The human eye wants this aesthetic harmony.»
O’Reilly, David: Basic Animation Aesthetics (2009) S.2


The designer of the game or, in large productions the art director of the game development company, sets the rules of design and constantly checks for visual coherence. Additionally, a designer must of course also take into account the story of the game in his decisions.

Principles of the labyrint

Probably the most significant and obvious scope for procedural generation in game development is where a programmed set of rules in the form of one or more algorithms can, in less time, or much easier, produce more results than human designers do in manual work. Examples of this are projects in which players can apply the same game principle to an infinite number of starting situations. Taking simple, two-dimensional mazes, a program could be written which procedurally under the rule (labyrinth size = X times Y pixels, 1 input, 1 output, 1 path from input to output, Seed = number of aberrations) theoretically can create infinite mazes.

Such maze principles are used in many dungeon games (games in which the player struggles through a dungeon to the finish) in a much more complex form.

The Game GenoTerra has been developed by Mihajlo Nenad with Unity. The procedural generation of the landscape is based on an open-source code by Sebastian Lague.73 The programming language of the project is C # (C Sharp). For the vegetation generation human-agent Proc.Gen is used. The basic forms for any vegetation in GenoTerra were created with the Shape Generator tool, which in a second step were worked out manually to the final asset (game component).

The story of GenoTerra is designed to give the designer the ability to manipulate a game world for visual coherence. In order to make this possible, an earth-like planet was chosen as the scenery to enable a science-fiction setting. When designing this planetary environment, physical conditions can be disregarded and biologically "impossible" beings, i.e. vegetation and landscape forms can be created.

With his prototype GenoTerra, Mihajlo Nenad has attempted to develop a method whereby the advantages of procedural generation can help designers develop faster and easier coherent game or image worlds in open world games.

His master's thesis was awarded the People's Choice Award at the CHI PLAY Conference in Melbourne in 2018. A report on his achievement can also be found in this article in Hochparterre.

Video game prototype GenoTerra

Mentors:

Dr. des. Ralf Michel

, Studio Integrative Design

Réne Bauer

, Head of the MA Game Design programme, ZHdK

Designing Game Worlds

,

2018

Kohärenz in der Spielweltgestaltung von Open-World-Games durch prozedurale Generierungstechniken

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis

«Open-World-Games» haben durch ihre riesigen Spielwelten das Potential für unzählige Stunden an Exploration und Spielspass. Prozedurale Generierung der Spielinhalte durch Computersoftware gewinnt daher als Designtechnik immer mehr an Bedeutung. Bei der Anwendung solcher Techniken können Probleme in der Kohärenz der Welten auftreten, die die Spielerfahrung negativ beeinflussen.


In seiner Masterthesis beschäftigt sich Mihajlo Nenad mit der Entwicklung und Gestaltung eines Open-World-Games. Das Ziel der Arbeit ist es, anhand des Prototypen GenoTerra Methoden zur Erzeugung von kohärenten Bildsprachen in Open-World-Games (und deren Komponenten) zu erarbeiten und konkret anzuwenden.

An Open-World-Game-Produktionen arbeiten in der Regel grosse Teams ausgebildeter Spezialisten, die Spielinhalte designen, programmieren und sinnvoll in die Gamewelt integrieren. Eine Alternative zur herkömmlichen Gestaltung von Open-World-Games bietet die prozedurale Generierung der Inhalte durch Computersoftware. Dabei führen prozedural generierte Inhalte nicht automatisch zu kohärenteren Inhalten. Jedoch können sie dem Designer helfen eine Bildsprache zu entwickeln und diese erfolgreich als Gesamtästhetik im Game zu etablieren.


Prozedurale Generierung in Games (PCG) ist der von einem Computer selbst erstellte Spielinhalt auf Basis eines, in erster Instanz von Menschen, programmierten Regelwerks.

«In other words, PCG refers to computer software that can create game content on its own, or together with one or many human players or designers. A key term here is “content”. In our definition, content is most of what is contained in a game: levels, maps, game rules, textures, stories, items, quests, music, weapons, vehicles, characters, etc.»

Togelius Julian, Shaker Noor, Nielsen Mark J.: Procedural Content Generation in Games. A Textbook and Overview of current Research. Springer (2016) S. 1

Prozedurale Generierung gewinnt zunehmend an Bedeutung und kann, wie bspw. No Man’s Sky verdeutlicht, inzwischen für die Generierung ganzer Spielwelten genutzt werden. Sie wird dort genutzt, wo Inhalte nicht bereits zu Beginn des Games geladen werden müssen, sondern erst, wenn der Spieler betreffende Inhalte wahrnimmt oder mit ihnen interagiert. Dieses Vorgehen optimiert die Rechenleistung und regelt die computerinternen Ressourcen-Handhabung.

Im Gegensatz zum manuellen Designprozess, welchen Mihajlo Nenad ebenfalls als Generierung versteht, hat prozedurale Generierung den Vorteil, quasi kurz vor dem Moment zu wirken, in dem das Designresultat im Spiel wichtig ist.


Das Game Rogue (1980) gilt als eines der ersten Games, welches sich prozedurale Weltengenerierung zu Nutze machte. Aus heutiger Sicht sieht diese Welt grafisch stark reduziert aus. Die Verliesse, die der Spieler (@-Symbol) erforscht (engl. to crawl = kriechen, krabbeln) und die im Englischen als Dungeons bezeichnet werden, bestehen, wie die restlichen Elemente, aus Textsymbolen. Der Spielstand kann im Originaltitel nicht gespeichert werden, da die Spielwelt jedes Mal neu, prozedural generiert wird. Ein Weg dies heute zu umgehen besteht darin, denselben Seed zu verwenden oder diesen abzuspeichern.

Ein sogenannter Seed (von engl. Samen) bildet den Startwert für die Generierung. Der Seed kann dabei verschiedene Formen haben. Beispiele für einen Seed sind:


Ganze Zahlen: 1, 2, 24, 678 ...

Dezimalzahlen: 0.1, 0.5, 7.934 ...

Buchstaben: a, b, C, D ...

Mehrere Buchstaben: abc, hallo, ThEsiS

Daten/Uhrzeit: 30.05.2018, 23:15:30


Dieser Seed fungiert als Ausgangswert für ein Regelwerk, welches ein Mensch zuvor an einem Computer programmiert hat. Ein solches Regelwerk für ein generiertes Rechteck könnte wie folgt lauten:


Regel 1: Seed + Seed2 = Breite des Rechtecks

Regel 2: (Seed - 1) + Seed2 = Höhe des Rechtecks

Regel 3: falls Seed > 3 = Rechteck blau gefüllt


Wie beim Rechteck können also Inhalte vom Computer selbstständig ausgegeben werden. Solche Inhalte können, je nach einprogrammiertem Regelwerk, sehr komplexe Formen annehmen. Nebst der visuellen Form von Objekten, lassen sich auch Geschichten (Stories) und Eigenschaften von Spielinhalten auf dieselbe Weise prozedural generieren.

Game vs. Play

Weist ein Spiel keine konkreten Regeln auf und baut stattdessen auf einer reinen Erfahrung des Nutzers im digitalen Raum, spricht man nicht mehr von einem «Game» sondern von «Play».

Kohärenz

Kohärenz der Bildsprache wird in Mihajlo Nenad’s Arbeit als zusammenhängende (einheitliche) Gestaltung, stilisiertes Design, verstanden. Eine visuell nicht kohärente, also nicht einheitlich gestaltete Welt, führt in der Regel zu einer ästhetisch weniger anregenden, visuellen Erfahrung des Games.


David O’Reilly schreibt in seinem Essay Basic Animation Aesthetics zum Schlagwort Kohärenz:

«My central belief is that the key to aesthetics is coherence. In 3d we essentially create artificial models of worlds, I contend that what makes these worlds believable is simply how coherent they are; how all the elements tie together under a set of rules which govern them consistently. This coherence spreads to all areas of a film; dialogue, design, sound, music, movement etc. Together they create a feedback-loop which reaffirms that what we are looking at is true. The human eye wants this aesthetic harmony.»
O’Reilly, David: Basic Animation Aesthetics (2009) S.2

Der Designer des Games oder bei grossen Produktionen der Artdirector der Spieleentwicklungsfirma, legt die Regeln der Gestaltung fest und überprüft stetig auf dessen visuelle Kohärenz. Nebst der visuellen Kohärenz muss ein Designer natürlich auch die Story des Spiels in seinen Entscheidungen mitberücksichtigen.

Labyrinth-Prinzipien

Der wohl bedeutendste und einleuchtendste Anwendungsbereich für prozedurale Generierung in der Spieleentwicklung ist überall dort, wo ein einprogrammiertes Regelwerk in Form eines oder mehrerer Algorithmen, in kürzerer Zeit oder sehr viel einfacher mehr funktionierende Resultate hervorbringen kann, als menschliche Designer bei manueller Arbeit. Beispielhaft dafür sind Projekte, bei denen Spieler dasselbe Spielprinzip auf unendlich viele Ausgangssituationen anwenden können. Nimmt man zum Beispiel einfache, zweidimensionale Labyrinthe, so könnte ein Programm geschrieben werden, welches prozedural unter der Regel (Labyrinthgrösse = X Mal Y Pixel, 1 Eingang, 1 Ausgang, 1 Weg von Eingang zu Ausgang, Seed = Anzahl Irrwege) theoretisch unendlich viele Labyrinthe erstellen kann.


Solche Labyrinth-Prinzipien werden in vielen Dungeon-Spielen (Games bei welchen sich der Spieler durch ein Verlies bis zum Ziel durchkämpft) in weit komplexerer Form angewendet.

Das Game GenoTerra hat Mihajlo Nenad mit der Spiel-Engine Unity entwickelt. Die prozedurale Generierung der Landschaft basiert auf einem Open-Source Code von Sebastian Lague. Die Programmiersprache des Projektes ist C# (C Sharp). Für die Vegetationsgenerierung kommt human-agent Proc.Gen zum Einsatz. Bei der human-agent Proc.Gen agiert anstelle oder ergänzend zu AI-, bzw. no-agent Proc.Gen ein Mensch als Evaluationsinstanz. In der Regel ist diese Person ein Designer, der die Resultate verwenden, verwerfen oder auf diversen Wegen weiter manipulieren kann.


Die Ausgangsformen für jegliche Vegetation in GenoTerra sind mit dem Shape-Generator-Tool entstanden, die in einem zweiten Schritt manuell bis zum finalen Asset (Spielbestandteil) ausgearbeitet wurden.

Die Story von GenoTerra soll dem Designer die Möglichkeit bieten, eine Spielwelt auf ihre visuelle Kohärenz hin zu bearbeiten. Um dies zu ermöglichen wurde als Szenerie ein erdähnlicher Planet gewählt, um ein Science-Fiction-Setting zu ermöglichen. Beim Designen dieser Planetenumgebung können physikalische Gegebenheiten ausser Acht gelassen und biologisch «unmögliche» Wesen, sprich Vegetation-, und Landschaftsformen kreiert werden.

Mihajlo Nenad hat mit seinem Prototypen GenoTerra versucht eine Methode zu entwickeln, bei der die Vorteile von prozeduraler Generierung Designer so unterstützen kann, dass diese schneller und einfacher kohärente Spiel-, bzw. Bildwelten in Open-World-Games entwickeln können.

Video game prototype GenoTerra

Mentorat:

Dr. des. Ralf Michel

, Studio Integrative Design

Réne Bauer

, Leiter der MA-Vertiefung Game Design, ZHdK