Craftschaft

,

2017

Administration as a craftsman's design tool

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis

On the basis of prospective fields of application of blockchain technology, the master's thesis of Pan Thurneysen examines administrative, logistical and communication aspects of hand-crafted products along the value chain. Exemplarily a system should be designed that automates administrative, logistical and marketing-related processes of locally manufactured products, without instances of external control or intermediation. The aim is to endow local craftsmen with the planning and administrative tools of mass-producing industries – or even to surpass them by means of of transparency.


«Craftschaft» deals with the entrepreneurial potential of digital tools in local Swiss crafts. The project examines product design as a process and links local actors, provides them a with access to nearby resources and uses blockchain, a the technology that underpins cryptocurrencies such as Bitcoin. Blockchain allows not only the creation of digital currencies, it is an open trust-less peer-to-peer system that enables its users to verify and transfer value-related assets over the internet.

The focus of the project is not solely about automating processes, but focuses on the extrapolation of a delicate element in the value chain which can only be be managed with high expenditures in incumbent industries: Transparency. Pan Thurneysen hypothesizes that transparency will increasingly have an influence of our purchasing decisions. We already want to know what and who has been part in the production of a good. But can we trust the reassuring statements of the companies and the claims of the quality labels?

In a globalized economy, it is extremely difficult to create clarity about the origin and nature of raw materials, much less to provide background information on the individual actors in the life cycle of a product: from raw material extraction, processing, production and shipping to recycling or the change of ownership. For products with a strong local connection, the outlook might be different.

Customers create a much more intense bond with an item in a co-crafting platform like «Craftschaft» than with a mass product. The ability to experience the story behind every step in production and the ability to retrace material provenance gives the customer the feeling of being a link in the value chain that eventually leads to the purchase of a specific item.

«Craftschaft» is an entrepreneurial prototype in which the small-scale tradesmen and materials, ideally already dispersedly present in a regional area, come together to create products from the available resources. Central to this thesis is the question, what individual approaches to and what elements of the local handicraft offer opportunities for differentiation in the market. How can craftspeople in such a system provide their customers with transparency? How does the market benefit from this? Is this radical form of transparency from an entrepreneurial point of view at all desirable?

Mentors:

Prof. Armin Blasbichler

, Studio Integrative Design

Luca Vicente

, Process Designer

Craftschaft

,

2017

Administration als Gestaltungswerkzeug im Handwerk

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis

Auf der Basis zukunftsweisender Anwendungsbereiche von Blockchain-Technologie erörtert Pan Thurneysen in seiner Master Thesis administrative, logistische und kommunikative Aspekte von handwerklich hergestellten Produkten entlang der Wertschöpfungskette. Beispielhaft soll ein System entworfen werden, das administrative, logistische und marketingbezogene Prozesse von lokal hergestellten Produkten automatisiert abwickelt, ohne externe Kontroll- oder Mittler-Instanzen. Ziel ist es, dem lokalen Handwerk die planerischen und administrativen Möglichkeiten der in der Masse produzierenden Industrie zu erschliessen – oder mehr noch: diese durch Transparenz zu überbieten. 


«Craftschaft» befasst sich mit dem unternehmerischen Potential digitaler Werkzeuge im lokalen Schweizer Handwerk. Das Projekt befasst sich mit Produktdesign als Prozess und verbindet lokale Akteurinnen und Akteure, gibt ihnen Zugang zu wortwörtlich naheliegenden Materialien und verwendet die Blockchain-Technologie, das Grundprinzip, mit welchem z.B. Bitcoins funktionieren. Damit lassen sich nicht nur Währungen realisieren, sondern etwelche wertbezogene Zustände, Umstände und Veränderungen festhalten, verifizieren und transferieren. 

Dabei geht es nicht einfach um das Automatisieren von Abläufen, sondern um die Erschliessung eines Wertes, der insbesondere in der Industrie heikel und aufwändig zu bewirtschaften ist: Die Transparenz. Pan Thurneysen stellt die Hypothese auf, dass Transparenz mehr und mehr unsere Kaufentscheide beeinflussen wird. Wir möchten schon heute wissen, wer uns was genau Teil im Herstellungsprozess eines Produkts war. Muss man den Beteuerungen der Industrie und der Qualitätslabels vertrauen?

In einem globalen Markt ist es äusserst schwierig, durchgehende Klarheit bezüglich der Herkunft und Beschaffenheit von Rohstoffen zu schaffen, geschweige denn, Hintergrundinformationen zu den einzelnen Akteuren im Lebenszyklus eines Produktes aufzuzeigen: Vom Rohstoffabbau, über Verarbeitung und Versand, bis hin zur etwaigen Wiederverwertung. Für Produkte mit starkem lokalem Bezug kann das anders aussehen. 

Zu Produkten, welche in diesem Co-Crafting-System hergestellt werden, haben die Käufer eine viel tiefer sitzende Bindung als das bei einem Massenprodukt der Fall ist. Die erlebbare Geschichte hinter jedem Arbeitsschritt und Material gibt dem Kunden das Gefühl, mit dem Erwerb dieses Objektes ein Teil der Kette zu werden. 

«Craftschaft» versteht sich als unternehmerisches Gefäss, in dem die tatsächlich an einem Ort vorhandenen Kleingewerbetreibenden und Materialien zusammenkommen, um Produkte aus den vorhandenen Materialien zu kreieren. Dabei steht die Frage im Zentrum, welche Ansätze und Elemente davon dem lokalen Handwerk Möglichkeiten zur Differenzierung am Markt bieten. Wie können Handwerkerinnen und Handwerker in einem solchen System Transparenz abbilden? Wie profitiert der Markt davon? Ist diese radikale Form von Transparenz aus unternehmerischer Sicht überhaupt erstrebenswert? 

Mentorat:

Prof. Armin Blasbichler

, Studio Integrative Design

Luca Vicente

, Process Designer