Basler Cortege

,

2014

by Ali Rahman Khan, Arne Molter, Corsin Zarn, Francesca Sanna

#StudioIntegrativeDesign

In cooperation with the registered non-profit association «Basler Totengeleit» and under the direction of Armin Blasbichler a group of students from the Masterstudio Design developed of a novel funeral cortege service for the city of Basel.

The non-profit association, politically-religiously neutral and independent, was founded by people, which from their experience and from firm conviction aim for a major, reliable, secure and individual alternative to the present form of funeral cortege.

Concept

Currently the transport of a deceased person is carried out exclusively by automobile, anonymous and functional. This form contradicts the biography and lived mobility of many people, respectively their surviving dependants in the city. Therefore, a new form of transport of deceased people shall be conceived for the city of Basel. A form of last journey that makes the subject of death publicly visible in a dignified manner.

In the city of Basel the topic of death has its own importance. For centuries, the «Basler Totentanz» represented an idiosyncratic view on the subject of death. With the introduction of the «Basler State Coffin» in 1935, another element added up to the cult of dead in the city. With the proposal for the «Basler Cortege» the association aims for the creation of a unique form of cortege as a cultural asset for the city.

Mentors:

Prof. Armin Blasbichler

, Studio Integrative Design

Basler Totengeleit

,

2014

von Ali Rahman Khan, Arne Molter, Corsin Zarn, Francesca Sanna

#StudioIntegrativeDesign

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Verein «Basler Totengeleit» und unter der Leitung von Armin Blasbichler zeichnen eine Gruppe von Studierenden des Masterstudio Design verantwortlich für die Gestaltung einer neuen Form des Totengeleits für die Stadt Basel. 

Der Verein «Basler Totengeleit», politisch-konfessionell neutral und unabhängig, wurde von einem Personenkreis gegründet, welcher aus eigenen Erfahrungen und aus fester Überzeugung mittelfristig eine tragende und individuelle Alternative zur heutigen Form des Leichentransports gestalten und sichern will. 

Konzept

Bis anhin erfolgt der Transport einer verstorbenen Person ausnahmslos per Automobil, anonymisiert und funktional. Diese Form widerspricht der Biographie und gelebten Mobilität vieler Menschen, respektive deren Hinterbliebenen in der Stadt. Daher soll eine neue Form des Transports der verstorbenen Menschen für Basel konzipiert werden. Eine Form des letzten Weges, die das Thema Tod in der Öffentlichkeit sichtbar macht und das dieses in der Gesellschaft würdevoll vertritt.

In Basel hat das Thema Tod eine Eigengewichtung. Seit Jahrhunderten steht der «Basler Totentanz» für eine eigene Sicht auf das Thema Tod. Bis heute ist er Inspiration und Herausforderung für namenhafte Künstler. Mit der Einführung des «Basler Staatssargs» 1935 hebt sich die Stadt Basel von der Sterbe– und Totenkultur im internationalen Maße ab. Um dem Rechnung zu tragen und die genannten Ziele zu erreichen beabsichtigt der Verein die Schaffung einer eigenen Form des Totengeleits als Kulturgut für die Stadt Basel.