Studio Fashion Design

The Master's degree emphasis program Studio Fashion Design is based on the holistic concept of «Doing Fashion». Doing Fashion conceives fashion as a cultural practice that reflects, questions and drives social change.

Studio Fashion Design

Jacqueline Loekito «Popularising genderless clothing in society today»

Stephanie Nina Yoon «Education Sentimentale»

Friederike Traub «Detached»

In cooperation with the Institute of Fashion Design, the studio focuses on forms of implicit knowledge such as the creative experiment, the appropriation of craft- and body-related techniques. In doing so, the normed body in fashion is questioned in order to develop new viewing habits and to make various body-images visible. In a small framework of up to six students, each individual design practice is critically reflected. Under the «Look Therapy» approach, the master's program is about using fashion as a semiotic system and means of communication aiming to use its potential as a forecast for sociocultural phenomena.


Mentored by lecturers of the Masterstudio Design, the Institute of Fashion Design and accompanied by renowned guests and critics, from the second semester onwards the students develop an extended collection concept for their Master-Thesis. Their work will be shown within the international framework of the annual «Graduate Show», a setting which creates high visibility of the graduates and promotes the professional network.

Interdisciplinary collaboration is explicitly encouraged. Thus there is also the opportunity to complete the master's thesis in the collective.

Candidates hold a university or college degree or equivalent qualification in fashion design, textile design, costume design or a related subject area.
Please follow this link for an overview of current students in the Studio Fashion Design.



Download Fact Sheet:

Studio directors:

Guest lecturer:




Overview Studios

Studio Fashion Design

Das vertiefende Master-Programm Studio Fashion Design basiert auf dem ganzheitlichen Modebegriff von «Doing Fashion». Doing Fashion begreift Mode als kulturelle Praxis, die gesellschaftliche Veränderungen spiegelt, hinterfragt und vorantreibt.

Studio Fashion Design

Jacqueline Loekito «Popularising genderless clothing in society today»

Stephanie Nina Yoon «Education Sentimentale»

Friederike Traub «Detached»

In Kooperation mit dem Institut Mode-Design fokussiert das Studio auf Formen des impliziten Wissens wie das gestalterische Experiment, die Aneignung von Handwerks- sowie körperbezogenen Techniken. Dabei wird der normierte Körper in der Mode hinterfragt, um neue Sehgewohnheiten zu entwickeln und diverse Körperbilder sichtbar zu machen. In einem kleinen Rahmen von bis zu sechs Studierenden wird die eigene Gestaltungspraxis kritisch reflektiert und dialogisch verortet. Unter dem Ansatz «Look Therapy» geht es im Masterstudium darum, Mode als Zeichensystem und Kommunikationsmittel anzuwenden und ihr Potenzial als Forecast für soziokulturelle Phänomene zu nutzen.

Mentoriert von Dozierenden des des Masterstudio Design, des Instituts Mode-Design und begleitet von renommierten Gästen, erarbeiten die Studierenden in der Master-Thesis ab dem zweiten Semester ihre Abschlussarbeit, der ein erweiterter Kollektionsbegriff zugrunde liegt. Die Arbeit wird mit der jährlichen «Graduate Show» in einem internationalen Rahmen gezeigt. Sie schafft hohe Sichtbarkeit der Absolvierenden und fördert das professionelle Netzwerk.


Die fachübergreifende Zusammenarbeit im Studio wird explizit gefördert. So gibt es auch die Möglichkeit, die Master-Thesis im Kollektiv zu absolvieren.


Bewerberinnen und Bewerber verfügen über einen Hochschulabschluss in Modedesign, Textildesign, Kostümdesign oder eines verwandten Fachbereichs.
Hier ein Überblick von aktuell Studierenden im Studio Fashion Design.



Download Fact Sheet:

Leitung Studio:

Gastdozent:




Übersicht Studios