Masterstudio Design

With the «Masterstudio Design», the FHNW Academy of Art and Design offers a Master's degree course in Design in which inquisitive creatives from different disciplines, the liberal arts as well as from related sciences, develop new perspectives for their professional careers.

Content and Structure

The curriculum of the Master's degree course is structured in cross-disciplinary core modules, design-based studio modules and the Master-Thesis.

Master-Thesis

With the Master's Thesis, students demonstrate their maturity to raise thought-provoking design issues, elaborate them in an inquisitive and comprehensive manner and convincingly face up to criticism.

Entry requirements

Masterstudio Design welcomes applicants with a degree from a Swiss Academy of Art and Design or University of the Arts. Candidates with undergraduate or graduate degrees from a foreign University or College do qualify likewise.

Admission

Admission takes place twice a year. In exceptional cases such as mitigating circumstances, particular job situation etc. a special appointment can be arranged upon request. Questions and inquiries about the admission process can be directed to Mrs. Nathalie Bahala.

Masterstudio Design

«Masterstudio Design» ist der Masterstudiengang in Design an der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHNW, in dem sich Gestalterinnen und Gestalter aus verschiedenen Disziplinen, den Freien Künsten und verwandten Wissenschaften neue Perspektiven für den professionellen Werdegang legen.

Inhalt und Aufbau

Das Curriculum des Studiengangs gliedert sich in disziplinenübergreifende Kernmodule, experimentell-gestalterische Studiomodule sowie der abschliessenden Master-Thesis.

Master-Thesis

Mit der Master-Thesis stellen die Studierenden unter Beweis, dass sie in der Lage sind, komplexe Fragestellungen selbstständig zu initiieren, forschungsorientiert zu bearbeiten und sich souverän der Kritik zu stellen.

Zulassungsbedingungen

Das Studienangebot richtet sich Bewerberinnen und Bewerber mit einem Hochschulabschluss einer schweizerischen Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst oder Hochschule der Künste. Zugelassen sind ebenso Bewerberinnen und Bewerber mit einem Abschluss einer ausländischen Hochschule oder Universität.

Anmeldung

Aufnahmeverfahren finden zweimal jährlich statt. In Ausnahmefällen wie z.B. Aufenthalt im Ausland, spezielle berufliche Situation o.ä. kann ein Sondertermin beantragt werden.